As  someone with an interior design background, it is the first time to come into contact with fashion. I feel  like I am lacking valuable  knowledge about fashion and how it influences trends, lifestyles and our daily choices. I  am not even  familiar with the fashion glossary,  and only know  a few brands and designers, etc. But all of this inspired me to learn.

wechatimg1

The above  image is  from my first week’s  class  exercise. Finding my interests from the magazines and tearing  it down, sticking  them on a big piece of  paper then presenting it to the class and giving reasons as to why I chose them. It is a good start in  preparation for  making  my portfolio. The reasons for me are  because my favourite style of clothes are long and loose-fitting and  I like lace as a fabric. Black is the only dark color I like, also I like wearing  black because it is  a classic staple. I like the soft fabric as well and the simple designs. Actually, when I hear this topic, I thought  I needed to focus on the clothes because to me fashion is ‘menswear’ and ‘womenswear’. But now I have new understanding of  ‘fashion’. From the works of my classmates, I know that fashion is  a very broad topic and does not simply refer to  clothes, shoes, accessories,  or even cosmetics. After class, I found the definition of fashion, which is ‘a style that is popular at a particular time, especially in clothes, hair, make-up, etc.’(Dictionary,2016). So that, fashion can be anything. It includes various themes and are connected to so many aspects of our lives.

In the first class, I learned some fashion glossary, such as contrasting, texture, print, floral, tartan, embellishment and monochrome. In order to understand the meanings of these words, I am doing some research. Here are some examples of my findings and understanding:

1.Print & Floral: Textile printing is the process of applying color to fabric in definite patterns or design.  In my opinion, ‘print’ is what I can see, but ‘floral’ is what I can touch. The most famous example brand is Dolce & Gabbana.

print
Photography by Dolce & Gabbana

 

2.Contrasting: Combine most interesting colors together and creating the necessary contrast in the image.

contrainsting
Contrasting Looks

3.Embellishment: Is anything that adds design interest to the piece. I feeling that the embellishment is most important of everything. While clothing has always served a practical purpose, aesthetic appeal is also an important consideration. Dressing with some details are looks much more pretty and not too bored.

555712eec6cd3e5e12ef4162045f39a0
Photography by Dolce & Gabbana

4.Monochrome: Monochrome describes paintings, drawings, design, or photographs in one color or value of one color.This style use the simple design to show the best product. It is my favorite, without too much color, without too much decorations.

monochrome
Monochrome Looks

Fashion is a really wide, deep topic for me. But interesting.


Reference:

[1]Dictionary, f. (2016). fashion Meaning in the Cambridge English Dictionary. [online] Dictionary.cambridge.org. Available at: http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/fashion [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

[2]Fashionstyle.us. (2016). The trend of the summer: contrasting combinations | Fashion Style. [online] Available at: http://www.fashionstyle.us/fashion-trends/the-trend-of-the-summer-contrasting-combinations/ [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

[3]Gemma Cruickshank. (n.d.). monochrome trend. [online] Available at: http://www.gemmacruickshank.com/blog/ss-2013-monochrome-trend [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

[4]Pinterest. (2015). Bejeweled, Embellishments, Broochs and more. [online] Available at: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/379357968593420733/ [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

[5]US.DOLCEGABBANA.COM. (2016). Designer clothing for men & women | Dolce&Gabbana Online Store. [online] Available at: http://store.dolcegabbana.com/en/women/clothing/dresses/printed-organza-dress-with-full-skirt-majolica-print-F6YA6THP15FHW003.html?cgid=women-apparel-dresses#start=58 [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

